Bodily injury liability coverage in Georgia pays for the medical bills and lost wages of another party injured in a vehicle accident you caused. Car insurance policies are required by law in most jurisdictions to provide bodily injury liability coverage.
Almost every state has a minimum bodily injury coverage requirement, such as $25,000 per person. However, consumers can, and should, go above the bare minimum required by Georgia law.
What is covered under bodily injury insurance?
If you cause harm to another motorist as a result of your negligence, bodily injury liability insurance takes in. Medical bills, missed pay from work, and even burial expenses may be included.
Bodily injury does not cover the price of any medical treatment you may need as a result of your injuries. Because it only covers damage to other drivers and passengers (you are the "first party"). It is referred to as "third-party" insurance.
What are the liability limitations for personal injury
For example, "25/50" refers to the amount of bodily injury coverage you have. These two numbers represent physical injury coverage limitations.
The first reflects the amount of coverage for one individual involved in the accident, and the second shows the total amount of coverage for the whole incident. This indicates that the insurance coverage will only pay out up to $25,000 per person wounded in an accident and a maximum of $50,000 in claims for a single accident, as an example of a 25/50 limit.
To further understand the concept of bodily harm culpability, let's look at two real-world scenarios.
1. Two persons in the other car were hurt as a result of an accident in which you were found to be at fault. There were $30,000 in medical expenditures for Person A, and $10,000 in medical expenses for Person B. Your insurance coverage will only pay $25,000 to Person A, and $10,000 to Person B, despite the fact that the aggregate medical expenditures are under the $50,000 maximum per accident. As a result, you are responsible for the $5,000 of the unpaid claim since Person A's costs were over the per-person limit.
2. Two persons were hurt in an accident that was your responsibility. Both people claimed a total of $25,000 in medical expenses. The insurance coverage will pay these costs since both individual claims are less than $25,000 and the aggregate claim is less than or equal to $50,000.
Consumers may also choose to acquire a combined single limit (CSL) coverage. When compared to the split limit, the CSL has a single restriction that is unaffected by the number of wounded individuals and applies to the whole accident. CSL limits are more costly because of their pliability, and not all automobile insurance companies provide them.
This blog will have articles written by members of the Stephen Turner Agency as well as other relevant articles we find. We want to ensure you have the most up to date info on the insurance industry so you can make the best choices for your family!